12 Properties + Map

The Historical Society’s properties are all within a short walking distance of each other. Begin your tour at Baird’s Tavern on Main Street where you can visit the gift shop and get more information about the buildings, exhibits and events planned for the season.

Warwick Historical Walking Map

Warwick Historical Walking Map

BAIRD’S TAVERN located at 105 Main Street is perhaps the most legendary building in Historic Warwick. Francis Baird built his limestone tavern in 1766 as an inn to house travelers that, along with a store, served a vital role in community life. George Washington recorded his 1783 tavern visit in his diary and Martha stayed here on her way to see George in his Newburgh headquarters in 1786. The Tavern houses a lovely gift shop and can be used for small private parties.
HASBROUCK CARRIAGE HOUSE is just behind Baird’s Tavern. The lower floor remains much the same as when horse-drawn carriages were stored here. The upper floor showcases a country doctor’s office from the turn of the 19th century, begun with the collection of the head of Warwick’s first hospital, Dr. Morris R. Bradner, Sr. first of many generations of Bradner doctors and enhanced by donations from several local Warwick physicians.

SHINGLE HOUSE on Forester Avenue at Church St. is the oldest standing house in the Village. Daniel Burt built this New England saltbox in 1764 for his son. Legend has it that the shingles for the sides and roof of this house were hewn from a single tree. The building was the first to be acquired by the Historical Society in 1915 and houses a collection of period furniture and accessories.

SLY BARN, next to Shingle House, was built about 1825 on the old Route 94 Sly Farm and was disassembled piece-by-piece, including the hand-cut stones of its foundation and carefully reconstructed behind the Shingle House in 1965. It holds early American tools, agricultural implements, antique household appliances, two horse-drawn carriages and old sleighs from Warwick.

LEHIGH AND HUDSON RIVER RAILWAY CABOOSE now sits alongside the Sly Barn. The railroad industry played a key role in the history of Warwick. This 1890 caboose is a small four-wheeler that repair crews used as a “home away from home” for plowing, laying track and derailments.

UNITED AFRICAN METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH, now located on Forester next to the Shingle House, was actually erected by its parishioners and patrons in 1906 on McEwen Street. In 2007, the UAME church was moved to its present site on Forester Avenue. The Society plans to restore this historic house of worship to a permanent African-American exhibit and museum.

OLD SCHOOL BAPTIST MEETING HOUSE
, centerpiece of Historic Warwick, was built on a stately knoll in Lewis Park between High St. and Church St. This beautiful house of worship’s steeple can be seen pointing skyward from wherever you are in the town. The first pastor was Elder James Benedict. The Baptists constructed their Meeting House in 1810. Most unusual are the twelve-paned windows and the Emblem of Peace that is a carved golden dove with an olive branch in its beak poised above the elegant wineglass pulpit. The barrel ceiling is also an outstanding architectural element. Today, the Meeting House is open to all to use for weddings, concerts, plays and the Village Christmas Eve service.

AZARIAH KETCHUM HOUSE is a small Federal house located on Church Street. It was built in 1810 by master carpenter Azariah Ketchum who served in the Revolutionary War under Col. Hathorn, one of Washington’s officers. With a floor plan is similar to a Manhattan brownstone, it has high ceilings, elaborate mantles and a graceful staircase. It is the home of the Society’s curator.

A.W. BUCKBEE CENTER at 2 Colonial Avenue, was acquired through the generous donation of Albert and Judy Buckbee and their children. This elegant 1927 brick building that was the Warwick Library for many years now houses the Society’s office, extensive historical archives and clothing collection. Belongings of the famous mid-1800s sportsman Henry William Herbert, pen name Frank Forester, are here. This unique space can accommodate up to one hundred people. It includes a grand assembly hall with high ceilings, two-story windows, kitchen and a spacious reception area available to rent.

THE 1810 HOUSE, BERTOLINI & CO. at 80 Main St. on Lewis Park, was built by the Hoyt family in 1810. This charming cottage was the Warwick Library in the 1870s and the American Legion headquarters in 1931. Today the building houses the interior design, garden design and antiques shop, Bertolini & Co.

LEWIS PARK, home of the Old School Baptist Meeting House and The 1810 House, is open to the public and a perfect venue for outdoor parties, community events and wedding receptions. Lewis Park was created in Madison Lewis’s memory in the late 1960s when cherry, maple, ash and crabapple trees were planted which now provide a spectacular spring display.

HERB WHEEL GARDEN, located just behind The 1810 House was designed as an authentic 1800s garden, is planted for fragrance and contrast of textures. It contains both perennials and annuals and is maintained by the Orange and Dutchess Garden Club and is open to the public.

Warwick Historical Society Headquarters:
A.W. Buckbee Center
2 Colonial Ave
Post Office Box 353
Warwick, New York 10990
845-986-3236

OSBMH, Fall 2013 by Darlene Brozowski

OSBMH, Fall 2013
by Darlene Brozowski