Albert Wisner Memorial Library Presented to the Public – 1927

Posted by on May 30, 2013 in Warwick In History Minutes | 0 comments

“Warwick in History” – On this day in 1927 the new library, the Albert Wisner Memorial Library, was presented to the public. The charming red brick and white colonial building located on Fountain Square was given ti the Village of Warwick¬†by Mrs. Annie Wisner Dunlap and accepted by the mayor, John M. Deming.

In 1923 Mrs. Albert Wisner of Chicago had left $100,000 in memory of her husband to build a library and to endow it perpetually. This was the third library for the village.

Mrs. Dunlap, grand-niece of the Wisners, also of Chicago and a lift trustee of the library, presented portraits done in oil of Mr. & Mrs. Wisner, which still hang in the library.

Three years before, in February of 1924, the formal charter had been granted by the state to the library, and it had been incorporated as an association library. The first meeting of the Board of Trustees took place in April of that year. Residents were able to use the up-to-date collection two weeks after the presentation.

In 1974 the library became a school district public library, offering its more than 4219 borrowers the best possible services.

Today the same charming red brick and white colonial building is the home office of The Historical Society of the Town of Warwick.

Photo: "Warwick in History" - On this day in 1927 the new library, the Albert Wisner Memorial Library, was presented to the public.  The charming red brick and white colonial building located on Fountain Square was given ti the Village of Warwick by Mrs. Annie Wisner Dunlap and accepted by the mayor, John M. Deming.

In 1923 Mrs. Albert Wisner of Chicago had left $100,000 in memory of her husband to build a library and to endow it perpetually.  This was the third library for the village.

Mrs. Dunlap, grand-niece of the Wisners, also of Chicago and a lift trustee of the library, presented portraits done in oil of Mr. & Mrs. Wisner, which still hang in the library.

Three years before, in February of 1924, the formal charter had been granted by the state to the library, and it had been incorporated as an association library.  The first meeting of the Board of Trustees took place in April of that year.  Residents were able to use the up-to-date collection two weeks after the presentation.

In 1974 the library became a school district public library, offering its more than 4219 borrowers the best possible services.

Today the same charming red brick and white colonial building is the home office of The Historical Society of the Town of Warwick.